Ashley Zehnder: How I Fit Exercise Into Every Day

People always ask me: “Ashley Zehnder, how in the world do you make the time for exercise?” And it’s a reasonable question. After all, I do hold down a job, manage a family, entertain friends, and pursue passions. All while I’m planning my marriage to the love of my life. At first glance, it wouldn’t seem like I would have time for the exercise thing.

But here’s what I think. I need daily exercise in order to handle all of the other demands of my day-to-day life. It’s exercise that keeps me focused and keeps me sane. If I skip my workouts, I might not be able to handle all of the other tasks I need to complete.

Ashley Zehnder

While my goals are lofty, it does take some commitment in order to make them a reality. And for me, that means getting up at the same time each and every morning, so I can get my workout completed before I head off to work. Sometimes, it’s really tempting to sneak in another 30-45 minutes of sleep, but if I get up, I can pound the pavement and make sure that I’ve done everything I need to do before the workday begins. So no hitting the snooze button.

Read also: Ashley Zehnder: Why You Should Never Skip Stretching After exercise

And I find that working out on the weekends makes sticking to workweek plans a little easier. Even one day off sends the subtle message to my brain that the work is optional. If it’s something I do every single day, with no breaks at all, it becomes a habit, and it’s harder to skip.

So how do I, Ashley Zehnder, fit fitness into every day? Through habit and force of will. If I can do it, you can, too!

Leave a Reply

